How press release resellers work, and what they pay wholesale
· 7 min read
Resellers pay published wholesale rates: XpressWire's agency programme is $150 to $175 a release, King Newswire's Yahoo package runs $170 to $350 each, and RedPress sells 10% to 25% off against a deposit. A retail price is one of those numbers plus a margin, so the affiliate commissions vendors advertise tell you roughly how large that margin is. Everything below is worked from public figures, including on our own $899 package.
A press-release reseller buys distribution wholesale from a network it does not own and sells it to you with a markup. That is the whole model. It is not disreputable — Proofwire is one, and so is almost every company you are currently comparing — but it is worth understanding precisely, because the wholesale layer is more public than the industry lets on, and the gap between wholesale and retail is where every claim in this market comes from.
The ladder has four rungs, and you can sometimes see three of them
A wire originates the release — and only six networks actually do. An agency or wholesale programme sells credits into it at a discount. A reseller buys those credits and sells single releases at retail. Occasionally there is a fourth rung — a reseller buying from another reseller — which is common enough that the wholesale price you are quoted may itself already carry a markup.
Several of those wholesale programmes publish their rates. These are the vendors' own published figures, checked in August 2026:
| Programme | Published wholesale rate | White-label |
|---|---|---|
| XpressWire Agencies | Basic $175 per release at 10 credits, $150 at 20; credits never expire | Yes, full |
| King Newswire resellers | Yahoo package $3,500 for 10 ($350 each) to $17,000 for 100 ($170 each) | Not specified |
| RedPress Partners | Deposit tiers: $500 buys 10% off, $1,000 15%, $1,799 20%, $4,500 25% | Yes, branded reports |
| EasyPRWire bulk | 10% at five releases rising to 30% at thirty; Premium $499 falls to about $349 | Yes |
| 24-7PressRelease agency | 15% at five, 20% at ten, 25% at twenty, 30% at thirty | Not specified |
| PRUnderground volume | US National $419.99 falling to $350 at thirty or more | Not specified |
| PRNow | $0.90 per credit at 250–499 credits, $0.83 at 500+, $0.76 at 1,000+ | Yes, custom domains |
| Presscart Pro | 30–50% off list, first month free | Yes |
Two patterns fall out immediately. Real discounts start at prepaid deposits, not per-order volume — the ladder is roughly 10% at five units, 20% at twenty, and 25–30% at thirty or on a prepaid balance. And white-labelling is the default, not an exception: most of these programmes ship reports with the reseller's branding and the network's name removed. That is precisely why so many storefronts can decline to say which wire they use.
The number that gives the game away
PRNow publishes a REST API with public documentation, and its catalogue endpoint answers without authentication. It returns, in plain JSON, a field named agencyCreditValue set to 0.75.
Read that as the reseller rate and you will be wrong, which we know because we printed it here as one. It is a display multiplier, not a price anyone is billed at. What an agency actually buys is prepaid credits on a published ladder — $0.90 a credit at 250–499, $0.83 at 500 or more, $0.76 at 1,000 or more. We buy on the first rung. A list price in dollars is the same number in credits, so the wholesale is one multiplication:
| Product | List | At our tier, $0.90 a credit |
|---|---|---|
| AP News placement | $58 | $52.20 |
| USA Today | $49 | $44.10 |
| Barchart | $29 | $26.10 |
| Street Insider | $29 | $26.10 |
| "Advanced V2" — 300+ outlets including Yahoo Finance, Business Insider, MarketWatch | $169 | $152.10 |
Now set that beside the only major wire that publishes a card. Cision's 2024 domestic pricing guide prices AP News direct placement at a flat $310. The same outlet, through two legitimate wholesale routes, differs by roughly six times. EIN Presswire, meanwhile, bundles an AP News placement into a release that costs $66.60 on its fifteen-pack — a 4.7× gap against Cision's own à-la-carte rate for the same destination.
Those spreads are the entire economics of this industry. Nothing about the delivered page changes across them, which is the whole of why one outlet carries four different prices.
Affiliate commissions confirm the margin
If you are unsure how fat a category's margins are, look at what it pays to acquire a customer. eReleases pays $349 flat per new customer. BrandPush pays 25% lifetime recurring, up to $492 per order. Press Ranger pays 20% recurring. Nobody pays a quarter of revenue in perpetuity out of a thin margin. These rates are published by the vendors themselves, and they are the most reliable public signal of what the underlying spread looks like.
How "500+ outlets" is manufactured
Two mechanisms, both observable.
The first is automated fan-out. One wire release is republished by hundreds of near-identical affiliate and aggregator sites, and each copy is counted. The signature is a price ladder where the outlet count rises far faster than the price: RedPress moves from 400+ to 1,300+ outlets for a 60% price rise; IssueWire moves from 225+ to 700+ between a $21 tier and a $65 tier. BrandPush proves the point against itself by selling six curated placements for $595 — more per placement than its 400-outlet $795 tier.
The second is running the same release through more than one network. In our sweep of a competing vendor's published campaigns on 28 August 2026, two of four clients had gone out on two different wires days apart — one on Newsfile on 25 June and MarketersMedia on 29 June, the other on Newsfile and MarketersMedia within a day. Two footprints, one announcement, counted once as a single package's reach.
Against both, the verifiable number is much smaller. Opening every URL we could find for those campaigns produced roughly 12 to 20 findable pages per release, not 500. The rest is real in the sense that copies exist; it is not real in the sense that you could list them — what "500+ outlets" is actually counting takes that number apart.
Four rules for pricing one honestly
If you are buying, these are the questions. If you run one, these are the constraints.
- Price the work, not the mystique. The wholesale figure is knowable, and increasingly published. What a buyer is paying for above it is writing, compliance review against the wire's content rules, the support call when a release is rejected, refunds when an outlet drops, and verification afterwards. Those are real costs and they justify a real markup. "Exclusive relationships" is not one of them.
- Never sell a wire you cannot produce a permalink for. A native release has a page on the network's own domain; a syndication package does not. If a supplier cannot show you one, the word on their pricing page is describing the downstream footprint, not the wire.
- Count what you can show. An outlet count you cannot itemise into URLs is a marketing number. Publish the list you can produce, and say plainly that further regional copies exist but are not itemised.
- Publish what the link does. Most press links on marquee outlets pass no search credit — Google's own documentation is plain that links marked
nofollow,sponsoredorugc"will generally not be followed", and its spam policies are why publishers apply those values to paid placements in the first place. Saying so costs a sale occasionally and costs nothing in the long run, because the buyer finds out either way — usually about six weeks later, from their SEO consultant.
The same arithmetic, on us
Our own list prices are Launch at $599 and Headline at $899, with Podcast Syndication at $99 as the only add-on. Both include the verified coverage report. We used to sell that as a separate $199 "Proof Report" and stopped, because charging extra for verification invited an obvious question about what the base package delivered without it. Comparable Yahoo-inclusive packages across the market run $399–$799 with a median near $499, and the field is bimodal: a mass cluster at $299–$499 and a premium self-serve band at $795–$965. Our flagship sits in the upper band.
Here is the whole of our own margin, since we have just spent an article computing everybody else's. Headline costs us $300.60 — the Advanced V2 plan at $152.10, plus AP News at $52.20, USA Today at $44.10, Street Insider at $26.10 and Barchart at $26.10, each bought as its own SKU — against a $899 list. That is a 66.6% gross margin. Launch costs us $152.10 against $599, a 74.6% margin. Podcast Syndication costs us $26.10 against $99, 73.6%.
Below all of that there is a floor. Fiverr carries 3,761 active listings under "submit press release", clustering between $15 and $50. Some of those sellers are fine. The ones that are not fail in a consistent way, and the review text says how: a one-star review on a press-release seller with 7,838 reviews reports that the great majority of links delivered were defunct or pointed at empty placeholder sites. That is the floor of this market, and it is why "cheapest" and "verified" are different purchases.
The wholesale product behind a "500+ outlets including Yahoo Finance and Business Insider" release is the row in the table above: $169 at list, $152.10 at the credit tier we buy on. We are not going to pretend that gap is smaller than it is. You can do that arithmetic, and we would rather you did it with the real numbers than guessed at them.
What sits in the difference is the part we will defend: writing and editing the release, checking it against the network's content rules before it is submitted rather than after it is rejected, opening every published URL in a real browser, reading the link attribute off the rendered page, and marking every row by who confirmed it, because links rot — one of the case studies in our sweep cited a MarketWatch URL that is simply gone. The report that produces is published before anyone buys one.
If that is not worth the difference to you, the wholesale programmes in the first table are open to anyone with a deposit, and several of them will white-label the reports. We would rather you knew that.
One more number, for scale
IBISWorld measures US newswire services at $1.1–1.2 billion in revenue, growing 0.5% a year, with the number of firms falling 7.8% a year to about 80. This is a mature, consolidating category, not a growth market — which is worth remembering the next time a vendor forecasts it quadrupling by 2032. Margin in a market like this comes from buying well and telling the truth about it, not from a reach number nobody can check.
Where these figures came from
- PRNow.io published reseller credit ladder — $0.90 per credit at 250–499, $0.83 at 500+, $0.76 at 1,000+. Its public catalogue endpoint, prnow.io/api-docs, separately returns "agencyCreditValue": 0.75, which is not the rate an agency pays
- PR Newswire 2024 Domestic Pricing Guide (PDF), hosted publicly by the IBPA: AP News direct placement $310 flat: cdn.ymaws.com/www.ibpa-online.org/resource/resmgr/PR_Newswire_2024_Domestic_Pr.pdf
- EIN Presswire published tiers: $149 single, $499/6 ($83.17 each), $999/15 ($66.60 each), AP News in every tier: einpresswire.com/pricing
- Google Search Central, "Qualify your outbound links to Google" — links marked nofollow, sponsored or ugc "will generally not be followed": developers.google.com/search/docs/crawling-indexing/qualify-outbound-links
- Google Search Central, spam policies — buying and selling links is not a violation "as long as they are qualified with a rel=\"nofollow\" or rel=\"sponsored\" attribute value": developers.google.com/search/docs/essentials/spam-policies
- XpressWire agency programme, King Newswire reseller packages, RedPress Partners deposit tiers, EasyPRWire bulk discounts, 24-7PressRelease agency programme, PRUnderground volume pricing — all published on the vendors’ own sites
- Affiliate rates published by eReleases ($349 flat per new customer), BrandPush (25% lifetime, up to $492/order), Press Ranger (20% recurring)
- IBISWorld, US Newswire Services: $1.1–1.2bn revenue, 0.5% revenue CAGR, establishment count declining 7.8% a year, 80 firms
- Proofwire placement sweep, 2026-08-28: 30+ published URLs opened in a real browser across four campaigns of a competing vendor
- Published outlet-count ladders: RedPress (400+ rising to 1,300+ outlets), IssueWire (225+ to 700+ between its $21 and $65 tiers), BrandPush (six curated placements at $595 against a 400-outlet tier at $795) — all on the vendors’ own pricing pages
- Market price band for Yahoo-inclusive packages, compiled from fourteen vendors’ published tiers, August 2026
- Fiverr marketplace search for "submit press release": 3,761 active listings clustering $15–50, and buyer review text on a seller with 7,838 reviews, captured August 2026
We distribute press releases to 300+ outlets, then open every published link and report what actually went live.
View packages